A Vibrant Community of Catholics Located in Richmond
This joyful and diverse Catholic community in west Richmond, BC, was initially established as a mission to Japanese Settlers in the Steveston area in the 1930’s. In 1949, St. Joseph the Worker became a Parish. In 1963, land on Williams Road was purchased and in 1967 the present church building opened. From the very beginning until 2018 St. Joseph the Worker was staffed by the Franciscan Friars of the Atonement. For many of the years, the Atonement Sisters were an incisive presence. Now, the Parish and School are overseen by the Canadian Holy Spirit Province of the Order of Friars Minor (OFM) with the support of a dedicated lay staff and engaged parishioners.